The House

- The perfumery Violet -

Maison Violet, une maison Historique

A historical brand

Founded in 1827 by Mr. Violet, the Violet perfumery marked the French cosmetics industry. Holder of several patents including one for thridace soap, the company obtained many awards during its existence. Based at several addresses in Paris, Violet was especially famous for the 12 Boulevard des Capucines.
Maison Violet, une maison Historique

The Conquest of European courts

In 1842 Violet officially became a supplier of the Empress Eugenie and Queen Isabella II of Spain. The bee, symbol of the Empress, was therefore affixed on each bottle and became an important trademark. In 1858 the shop took the name "To the Queen of bees - Violet House" to establish its legitimacy. The committee of the 1867 World Fair particularly distinguished the work of Louis Claye, then Director of Violet, by rewarding several products of the House.
Maison Violet, une maison Historique

After Europe, the rest of the world

At Louis Claye death, Violet was one of the ten largest French perfume houses. It was not until 1885 that Aaron-Marc Rehns was appointed head of the company that was later listed on the stock market. The company entered the era of export. It could be found in the United States under the name of Veolay, in England, in Russia and in several European countries such as Germany, Spain and Portugal. It became an industry that employed over 250 workers in its factories.
Maison Violet, une maison Historique

The end of a Chapter

After many years of good economic health, history tainted the balance of the company. The various world wars, the economic crisis of 1929 in the United States and the complicated management relationship with Violet's international partners have weakened the perfume House. Violet will eventually fall asleep around 1953. It was not until 2015 that the story resumed from where it stoped with the arrival of three young men.

- Violet today -

Maison Violet, une maison Historique

The start of a new one

It is on the benches of a perfume school in Paris that 3 friends decided to restore this old French perfumery. Becoming the successors of Violet, they began the renaissance of the name. Their profiles, although different, were driven by the same passion for perfume and history. Friends and confreres, their complementary characteristics have allowed them to rebuild a modern brand in the respect of Violet’s past.

La Maison

- La Parfumerie Violet -

Maison Violet, une maison Historique

Une Maison Historique

Fondée en 1827 par Mr. Violet, la parfumerie Violet marqua l'industrie française de la cosmétique. Détentrice de plusieurs brevets dont un pour le savon à la thridace, la société obtint plusieurs prix durant son existence. Basée à Paris et ce à plusieurs adresses, Violet fut surtout réputée pour le 12 Boulevard des Capucines.
Maison Violet, une maison Historique

A la conquête des cours Européennes

1842 fut l'année où la maison devint officiellement fournisseuse de l'impératrice Eugénie et de la reine Isabelle II d'Espagne. Aujourd'hui encore l'abeille, symbole de l'impératrice, est apposée sur chaque flacon. En 1858 la boutique prit la dénomination « À la Reine des abeilles - Maison Violet » afin d'asseoir sa légitimité. Le comité de l'Exposition universelle de 1867 distingua particulièrement le travail de Louis Claye, alors directeur de Violet, en récompensant plusieurs produits de la Maison.
Maison Violet, une maison Historique

Après l'Europe, le reste du monde

À la mort de Louis Claye, Violet faisait partie des dix plus grandes maisons de parfum françaises. Il faudra attendre 1885 et l'arrivée de Aaron-Marc Rehns à la tête de la société pour que cette dernière soit cotée en Bourse. La société entra alors dans l'ère de l'export. On pouvait la retrouver aux Etats-unis sous le nom de Veolay, en Angleterre, en Russie et dans plusieurs pays d'Europe comme l'Allemagne, l'Espagne ou encore le Portugal. Elle devint une industrie qui employa plus de 250 ouvriers dans ses usines.
Maison Violet, une maison Historique

La fin d'un chapitre

Après de nombreuses années de bonne santé économique, l'Histoire entacha l’équilibre de la société. Les différentes guerres mondiales, la crise économique de 1929 aux Etats-Unis et une gestion des partenaires compliquée auront raison de Violet. Elle finira par s'endormir vers 1953. Il fallut attendre 2015 et trois jeunes hommes pour reprendre l'histoire où elle avait été laissée.

- Violet Aujourd'hui -

Maison Violet, une maison Historique

Le début d'un autre

C’est sur les bancs de l’école supérieure du Parfum que 3 amis décidèrent de restaurer cette ancienne parfumerie française. Devenant ainsi les successeurs de la Maison Violet, ils s’attelèrent à la renaissance de ce nom. Leurs profils, certes différents, étaient animés par la même passion du parfum et de l’histoire. Amis et confrères, leurs caractères complémentaires ont permis de reconstruire une marque moderne dans le respect du passé de Violet.